SEPTEMBER Titles for Adults

Adventure Stories

 

Kortney's Pick

The Art of the National Parks
Adventure through the U.S. National Park system with original poster art created by contemporary artists and designers. Celebrate the unique beauty of the parks, as well as learn the history and overview of the flora and fauna at the locations.

Laura's Pick

The Unofficial Disney Parks Cookbook: From Delicious Dole Whip to Tasty Mickey Pretzels, 100 Magical Disney-inspired Recipes
Food is all about adventure and new experiences. Enjoy 100 recipes from the Walt Disney World and Disneyland resorts!

Nancy's Pick

Raft of Stars: A Novel
by Andrew J. Graff
This undiscovered gem, one of the best books I’ve read in 2021, is perfect for fans of Where the Crawdads Sing. Two ten-year old boys think they’ve committed a horrific crime, and light off into the Northwoods of Wisconsin. Four adults track them in the forest and down a river, including a sheriff recently arrived from Texas and doubting his future in law enforcement.  The wonder, the ferocity, and the healing power of nature make this a great adventure in reading. A terrific story well told, with characters worth caring about. Highly recommended!

Randall's Pick

Paper Ghosts
by Julia Heaberlin
A haunting, psychological thriller of a road trip across Texas, Paper Ghosts will keep you guessing until the very end.

Sandy's Pick

The Alchemist
by Paulo Coelho
(ebook & audiobook also available)
"When you want something all the universe conspires in helping you to achieve it."  All Santiago has ever wanted was to know the world.  Coelho's allegorical novel follows the young shepherd as he embarks on a grand adventure that takes him from his home in Spain to the deserts of Africa in search of treasure.  Along the way he meets people who teach him many different lessons, the most important being how to listen to his own heart.

Sharon's Pick

The 100-Year-Old man Who Climbed Out The Window and Disappeared
by Jonas Jonasson
Allan Karlsson wants to avoid his 100th birthday party. So he climbs out of the window in his room at the nursing home and heads to the bus station. And the adventure begins. He steals a suitcase from a fellow passenger, which involves a large pile of cash and a connection to some nasty criminals. This is a great tale of one man's life as an adventure and the history of his life unfold.

Vanessa's Pick

Jurassic Park
by Michael Crichton
When a wealthy man’s dream of opening a zoo full of prehistoric creatures turns into a nightmare, those stranded on his private island will have to use all of their combined knowledge and skills to make it out alive. This action packed adventure will take you on a wild ride jam-packed with thrills and 90’s nostalgia.

  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
  4. 4
  5. 5
  6. 6